Governmental Affairs

The Governmental Affairs committee advocates for issues that affect businesses and the quality of life in the Huron area. Our committee strives to keep the community informed on issues, improve communication between the community and governmental entities, and takes a leadership role in political forums.

Current Projects/Programs

  • Forums (legislative and school board)
  • Pre and Post Legislative Luncheons
  • Coffee with the Legislators
  • Area Legislative Dinner
  • State of the City Luncheon
  • State of the County Luncheon
  • State of the School Luncheon
  • Business Day at the Legislature

Meeting Information

  • When 2nd Friday of each month
  • Where Huron Visitor Center (address)
  • Time 8:00 am

2022 Committee Chair

Mike Held
SD Farm Bureau

Committee Members

Doug Pietz
Huron Community Campus
Arnie Claeys
Vantage Financial
Gracie Culver
Student - Huron Public Schools
Jake Holforty
Student - Huron Public Schools
Mike Held
SD Farm Bureau
Tom Hansen
Beadle County Commissioner
Rebecca Rink
Dakota Provisions
Ted Haeder
Greater Huron Development Corp
Kraig Steinhoff
Huron Public Schools
Bryan Smith
City Commissioner
Laurie Shelton
Huron Chamber & Visitors Bureau


For more information on the Governmental Affairs Committee, email or 352-0000.

Website Powered By PageFramer, Development By Robert Sharp & Associates